UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Malta

It’s a small country, as has previously been noted, but Malta certainly punches above it’s weight in terms of UNESCO World Heritage sites.   There are three listed sites in Malta, as follows:

– The City of Valletta
– The Hypogeum (Hal Saflieni Hypogeum)
– The Megalithic Temples

Now this last one includes a number of different sites, which UNESCO has decided to group together under one heading – Malta is pretty small, remember.  These temples are situated here:


– Ggantija (two temples on Gozo)
– Hagar Qim  (South Malta)
– Mnajdra (South coast of Malta)
– Tarxien  (Paola, Malta)
– Ta’ Hagrat  (Mgarr, Malta)
– Skorba  (Zebbiegh, Malta)

If you get a chance, you really should take the opportunity to visit one of these sites, as they’re among the oldest of their kind anywhere in Europe, and definitely worth checking out.  Not all of them – visit one and you pretty much get the idea, and some are in a better state of repairs than others – but something you should find time to fit into your stay on the island.